According to the guidelines for entering Maharashtra, rail passengers from Kerala, Goa, Gujarat, Delhi NCR , Rajasthan, and Uttarakhand will have to bring negative RT-PCR report.

In view of a spike in COVID-19 cases in Maharashtra, the state government has issued new guidelines for entering Maharashtra making RT-PCR negative test report mandatory for rail passengers from 6 states.


The states include Kerala, Goa, Gujarat, Delhi and NCR region, Rajasthan and Uttarakhand. Maharashtra has termed these states to be the places of “sensitive origin”.

According to the new mandate, the rail passengers from these states will have to carry the negative report for COVID within 48 hours of travel. 

Other SOPs and guidelines for entering Maharashtra

The data of passengers will also be shared with the local disaster management authority every day. However, the information will be shared four hours before the time of departure or the trains.

The travellers will also not have an option to travel on an unreserved ticket to Maharashtra. In case, the passengers do not bring the report, they will have to undergo a rapid antigen test at the station.

The railways will also ensure that the trains stop at outer platforms in Maharashtra for the easy conduct of thermal screening.

Moreover, the asymptomatic passengers will have to remain in home quarantine for 15 days after the travel. On the other hand, symptomatic passengers will have to go to the institutional quarantine centres.

Avoid travelling unless it is necessary!

Also Read: Deja-Vu! Lockdown-like situation again: Government imposed section 144 in Maharashtra

For more such stories follow Local Samosa on FacebookInstagramTwitter, and Telegram.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here