Celebrate the Statehood with UNESCO Heritage Sites in Maharashtra

From Western Ghats to Elephants Caves and Ellora Caves, there are 5 heritage sites in Maharashtra that you must know about and also plan to visit very soon if you have not!

Local Samosa
Updated On
New Update

From century-old homes to hills, ghats, caves, and a myriad of historic buildings, Maharashtra is a treasure trove waiting to be explored! Among the 42 UNESCO heritage sites in India, this state boasts 5 remarkable locations. Curious to know which ones? Read on below, and don't forget to share which places you've already visited!

Ellora Caves, Aurangabad



One of the oldest caves that date back to ancient India, Ellora Caves is a rock-cut religious destination and is also one of the largest in the world. It consists of 34 monasteries and temples here, with 17 Hindu caves, 12 Buddhist caves, and 5 Jain caves. It is said that the Ellora caves were built between 756 and 773 AD, but UNESCO also states that some of the parts' earliest parts date from 600 AD. The caves were listed in the UNESCO list in 1983.

Ajanta Caves, Aurangabad



About almost 2 hours and 30 minutes away from Ellora Caves exists the Ajanta Caves, which made it into the list of UNESCO Heritage sites in 1983. It is a roof for world-class Buddhist religious art and is also a great reference to the ancient Indian art. There are a total of 29 caves here and are divided into periods that denote the time when they were built. According to the reports, the caves were built during the Gupta period; 5th and 6th centuries A.D.

Elephanta Caves, Navi Mumbai 



Perched on an island named, Elephanta, these caves are dedicated to Lord Shiva and his various forms and life phases. There are a total of seven caves here that were built in mid 5th and 6th centuries AD. Along with this, there are many carvings and artworks that can still be seen in the caves, while many can be found in museums across the country. The Elephanta Caves made into the list of UNESCO Heritage sites in 1987.

The Victorian and Art Deco Ensemble of Mumbai



The hisotry and story behind the urban planning of the dream city that we see now lies in the Victorian and Art Deco Ensemble of Mumbai, that are the 19th century Victorian Neo-Gothic public buildings, and 20th century Art Deco buildings in the city. From Oval Maidan to Marine Drive and Chattrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus, it includes te development of the city in phases, which, together got the UNESCO Heritage tag in 2018.

Western Ghats, Maharashtra



Maharshtra, which is encircled with the Western ghats from the west side, received the UNESCO Heritage tag in 2012. The Western Ghats mountain range is significantly important for holding the distinct biophysical and ecological processes that also shape the monsoon patterns in India. You must also know that the Western Ghats stands among the top eight biodiversity hotspots housing over 325 globally endangered species of flora, fauna, birds, amphibians, reptiles, and fish.The Ghats can be enjoyed from Mahabaleshwar, Lonavala, Igatpuri, Mulshi, Amboli, Tahmhini Ghat and more.

With inputs from UNESCO World Heritage Centre.


Heritage sites in Maharashtra Heritage places in Maharashtra